Seattle Residential: I Do That: Book Review: Selling When No One Is Buying

Book Review: Selling When No One Is Buying

Book Review: Selling When No One Is Buying

Selling When No On Is BuyingSelling When No One Is Buying by sales trainer Stephan Schiffman didn't offer anything new or innovative but I'm glad I read it. It's full of reminders, procedures, warnings and tactic that will get your focused and restarted in forwarding a sales strategy for 2011.

In the first 100 pages Schiffman concentrates on you, the individual and ways to adjust your process and your habits. He insists that knowing your ratios of contacts to clients to sales is important and I agree. First start with your attitude. Make it positive. If you don't believe in yourself or in your product, no one you talk to is going to believe either. Then educate yourself in the means of communication as we know it today. The second part of the book deals a lot with marketing to large companies and while this is not so revalent to real estate agents, the methods of getting to the right people and what to say may well prove valuable.

Each chapter ends with a Take Action demand that should set your mind and feet in motion. If you are reading the book it is because you have goals to reach and are not interested letting a little thing like a bad economy get you down.

In summary the book offers this:

  1. The economy is cyclical
  2. There's no magic formula for selling in a bad economy
  3. Selling in an economic downturn means looking at things in a different way
  4. Hard times are a chance to transform your relationship with your accounts
  5. Sales is always about attitude

My copy, like almost all of the books I review is available for free. If you'd like it, just send me an email and one day soon it will arrive at your door in the US mail. This book has now been sent to someone.

Click on the book to join the
ActiveRain Book Club Group

Click to join AR Book Club

 

 

 

 

Glenn Roberts
Retired

 

//

Comment balloon 16 commentsGlenn Roberts • December 28 2010 05:33PM

Comments

What a great idea for a new group Glenn, I am now your sixth member. Love the review also...

Posted by Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS, South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker! (Fathom Realty Washington LLC) over 9 years ago

Paul - Welcome aboard

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 9 years ago

Glenn, nice review, even if it introduces nothing new, it is always good to reinspire ourselves. I love when books have action items, Trust Agents does the same thing.

Posted by Gerry Michaels, GettysburgGerry Social Meida (Glasswork Media Arts) over 9 years ago

Gerry - The action items often compel us to take an action we might otherwise just read and passed on. The concept works.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 9 years ago

Glenn ~  This is wonderful -- I'll be sending an email.  So glad to be back home and ready to get back to work.

You can add me to the Group as well, please.

Posted by Tish Lloyd, Broker - Wilmington NC and Surrounding Beaches (BlueCoast Realty Corporation) over 9 years ago

Tish - Thanks for joining the group. Book's on the way tomorrow.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 9 years ago

Great review.. I will have to put this one on my list.. I am so far behind on my reading already though!!

Posted by Sheila Newton Team Anderson & Greenville SC, Selling the Upstate since 1989 (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices - C. Dan Joyner) over 9 years ago

Glenn, what a great idea and a great review! But, I am sorely disappointed, I am looking for the magic pill, the one that can tell me exactly what to do, with minimal effort, that will catapult me to the top... is it out there? :D

Happy New Year Glenn!

Posted by Andrea Swiedler, Realtor, Southern Litchfield County CT (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices New England Properties) over 9 years ago

Looks like a good book to read. Thanks for your suggestion. Best wishes for continued success!

 Happy Holidays to all from your friend in Maryland.

Posted by Roy Kelley (Realty Group Referrals) over 9 years ago

Sheila - I'm trying to do one work related book each month.

Andrea - Yeah, I wanted to do some drugs too, but it's going to be hard work.

Roy - and Happy Holidays to you too.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 9 years ago

Glenn, A great attitude yields better results! The best you in 2011, it will be an amazing year filled with endless possibilities!

Posted by Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!, So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR (Red Rock Real Estate) over 9 years ago

Wanda - Attitude is 99% of moving through difficult times. Have a fabulous 2011.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 9 years ago

HI GLENN!  Sometimes nothing new is something new if you do something with it - how's that for a mouthful!  Happy New Year to you -- Gab

Posted by Gabrielle Kamahele Rhind, Broker/Owner (KGC Properties LLC, Tucson Property Management & Real Estate) over 9 years ago

Gab- that's exactly right.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 9 years ago

I read this stuff for reminders of what we usually already know but we get so busy we forget. Thanks. 

Posted by Jane Jensen (Century 21 New Millennium) over 9 years ago

Jane -  On the nose. We know it, but we need it.

David - Looking for a leap into 2011.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 9 years ago

Participate